Skip to Main Content
Madigan Medical Library

Dental: Home

This guide is designed to orient our dental professionals to Madigan materials specifically designed for them.  

Databases, Subscriptions, and Apps

Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source

Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source is an evidence-based resource offering an index to dental literature and access to full-text scientific articles from a wide range of dentistry and oral science source publications.  Full text of 380+ journals.

 

PERC - the Patient Education Reference Center provides access to a comprehensive collection of current, evidence-based patient education information for clinicians to customize, print, and distribute at the point-of-care.

 

The Scientific & Medical Art (SMART) ImageBase contains more than 20,000 medical images, illustrations, and interactive multimedia for 26 body systems/regions and 19 medical specialties.

 

Lexicomp includes way more than you'd ever suspect!  It's not only Madigan's formulary, but it's also the gateway to Lexi-Dental Complete and Lexi-Dental Complete for Oral Surgery.  Here you'll find Dental Lexi-Drugs, Oral Soft Tissue Diseases, Oral Hard Tissue Diseases, Clinician's Endodontics Handbook, Dental Office Medical Emergencies, Manual of Dental Implants, Manual of Clinical Periodontics, Oral Surgery for General Dentists, Little Dental Drug Booklet, and Manual for Pediatric Dentistry.  

Put it on your phone! 

  1. Create an account on the Lexicomp website on a Madigan computer (Click on Mobile Access Codes and follow the instructions). 
  2. Manage the Account > Add a Subscription By Code > enter one code, wait for a PIN email, enter that, then you're registered.
  3. Repeat the last step for each product you want to add to your subscription.
  4. Download the app from iTunes or Google Play.
  5. Login to the app with the account you created on a Madigan computer.
  6. Click the hamburger menu in the upper right, then click on Update.
  7. The app will give you a full list of all resources that the DHA subscription gives you access to.
  8. Select All > Update

NOTE:  Do this on your home wifi.  It's A LOT of data, and it will take you > 1 hour to do it via your cell data plan.

 

Prescriber's Letter is an online service for prescribers to keep up-to-date on new developments in drug therapy.  Also provides CME/CE!

 

A-Z Dentistry Journals

The A-Z List is the inventory of all e-journals that we subscribe to, either individually or through online journal packages.  You don't have to know which database to look in.  Just click this link to find all of our dentistry journals.

 

MadCat is the MADigan CATalog of books and e-books.  This link will search the catalog specifically for any books or e-books to do with dentistry, mouth, oral, and tooth/teeth-related subjects.